PATROL DIVISION
Commander Lieutenant Edward Ciempola
TRAFFIC SAFETY
Sergeant Dennis Kardos

The Patrol Division of the North Plainfield Police Department is staffed by two platoons each consisting of 3 sergeants and 12 patrol officers, 4 civilian dispatchers and 1 Sergeant and 1 Patrolman assigned to the Traffic Safety Division.

Officers begin their careers in the Patrol Division after receiving initial training from a police academy recognized by the New Jersey Police Training Commission. Upon graduation from the police academy, new officers are assigned to a Field Training Officer for 2 months. The new officers expand the basic knowledge gained from the academy and are eligible for lone patrol duty after successfully completing the Field Training Program.

Uniformed officers assigned to the Patrol Division have the primary responsibility of answering calls for service from the public, as well as engaging in preventive patrol within all districts in the borough. The patrol officers are alert for criminal activity and traffic violations that require immediate enforcement action. Patrol officers are also responsible for preliminary criminal investigations including completing various reports, identifying victims and violators, making arrests at the scene, identification and collection of evidence, and testifying in judicial proceedings. The North Plainfield Police Department engages in an extensive ongoing training program so officers are better trained to respond to the needs of the public.

The Traffic Safety Division, which is under the command of the Patrol Division, has the primary responsibility of enforcing traffic violations, conducting traffic surveys, utilizing specialized equipment such as the mobile radar trailer and traffic counters, and investigating serious and fatal motor vehicle accidents. The Sergeant and Patrolman assigned to this division is highly trained in the investigation of motor vehicle crashes, and is constantly updating this training.

NPPD Accreditation
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Tuesday 11 August 2020
6:00PM - 7:30PM
Ending Stigma in Somerset County: Raising Awareness About Mental Health
Wednesday 12 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Belly Dance Bhangra World Dance Fusion
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 13 August 2020
1:00PM - 2:30PM
Employment Resources for People with Disabilities
Friday 14 August 2020
2:00PM - 3:30PM
Smart DriverTEK workshop: Presented by AARP
Saturday 15 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Tuesday 18 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Transforming Journalism: How Augmented and Virtual Reality are Impacting the News
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 19 August 2020
7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mayor's Free Summer Concert Series
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 22 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Wednesday 26 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The History of the Great Swamp
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mayor's Free Summer Concert Series
Thursday 27 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
How to Use Facebook to Increase Your Business
Saturday 29 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Monday 31 August 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Virtual Readers' Roundtable
Wednesday 2 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 3 September 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 5 September 2020
5:30PM - 10:00PM
Community Day - Fireworks
Monday 7 September 2020
All day
LABOR DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 9 September 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 12 September 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
Sunday 13 September 2020
All day
National Grandparents Day
Monday 14 September 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 15 September 2020
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 16 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 17 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 19 September 2020
All day
Rosh Hashana
8:30AM - 1:00PM
Fall CLEAN COMMUNITY DAY
Tuesday 22 September 2020
11:00AM - 4:00PM
Fall Begins
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 23 September 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 26 September 2020
11:00AM - 4:00PM
NP Fall Festival
Monday 28 September 2020
All day
YOM KIPPUR
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Thursday 1 October 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 3 October 2020
All day
1st Day of Sukkot
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
12:00PM - 3:00PM
Senior Picnic
Wednesday 7 October 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Monday 12 October 2020
All day
Columbus Day - Borough Hall Closed
Tuesday 13 October 2020
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Wednesday 14 October 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 17 October 2020
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
7:00PM - 10:00PM
Optimist Club Wine Tasting
Monday 19 October 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
Tuesday 20 October 2020
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 21 October 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Sunday 25 October 2020
1:00PM
Halloween Parade
Monday 26 October 2020
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Wednesday 28 October 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Passport Services
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 31 October 2020
All day
Halloween!
Sunday 1 November 2020
2:00AM
Daylight Savings Time Ends 2am
Tuesday 3 November 2020
2:00AM
ELECTION DAY - Borough Hall Open
Wednesday 4 November 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 5 November 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 November 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)
Fridays Between May 28th - Aug 30th:
Borough Offices Will Close 1:30pm