The North Plainfield Police Department is committed to a productive partnership with the community. In an effort to expand that partnership and provide more comprehensive services to the community the North Plainfield Police Department is initiating Operation Watch Dog. This program encourages residents and businesses to register their privately owned home/business video surveillance in efforts to increase safety and reduce crime. The department recognizes that crimes can be committed at any place or time and that home/business video surveillance may have captured vital footage that could help solve crimes in our community. During a criminal investigation our officers are often unaware of the many residences and businesses that have surveillance systems who may have captured footage of value to the investigation. Having knowledge of the location of a surveillance system in the area of a crime could be instrumental in a successful resolution.

There are several benefits to registering with the North Plainfield Police Department Operation Watch Dog. It expedites the retrieval of footage from surveillance systems close to the crime scene in an effort to uncover criminal activity. It also reduces the number of officers assigned to canvass the area around a crime scene for operational surveillance systems. This allows officers assigned to the investigation to be deployed to other tasks in the investigation thereby enabling a higher degree of efficiency of allocated resources. Please note that this program does not give police the ability to tap into any home or business surveillance feeds.

If you are signed up for the Operation Watch Dog and a crime occurs in your neighborhood, you may be contacted by a North Plainfield Police Officer who would ask if you could examine the time frame in question for potential video footage. If your equipment was able to record pertinent information, we would arrange a convenient time and day to retrieve the footage from you.

Your participation in Operation Watch Dog always remains 100% voluntary and your personal information will be kept confidential and not for public dissemination. Only law enforcement personnel can view the surveillance footage.

Operation Watch Dog is just another useful tool which offers residents and businesses the opportunity to partner with the North Plainfield Police Department in the fight against crime throughout the township. If you would like to participate in this program residents and businesses are encouraged to register their cameras at no cost by filling out a short application below.

How it works:

  • Registration:

    This step is easy and takes just a few minutes to complete. You provide contact information and tell us where your cameras are located. There is no cost for registration.

  • Confirmation:

    Once the application is completed, a member of the North Plainfield Police Department who will follow up with you to confirm your information.

  • Call for Assistance:

    The North Plainfield Police will only contact you if there is a criminal incident in the area of your security cameras. Police personnel may request a copy of any video captured by your cameras which may be pertinent to the investigation.

Add Watchdog Registration Information






North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Wednesday 19 February 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Passport Services
7:00PM - 7:45PM
Freedom Songs - The Music of Black History
7:30PM
Board of Education
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Cancelled - Board of Adjustment
Thursday 20 February 2020
7:15PM - 8:30PM
Book Discussion
Saturday 22 February 2020
11:00AM - 2:00PM
Winterfest!
Monday 24 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 25 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Cooking Class: Instant Pot Beef Stew
Wednesday 26 February 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 28 February 2020
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Saturday 29 February 2020
3:00PM - 4:00PM
Celebrate Black History Month: Concert-From Jazz to Soul
Monday 2 March 2020
All day
Read Across America Day
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Tuesday 3 March 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Wednesday 4 March 2020
7:30PM
Board of Education
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 5 March 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 March 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
Sunday 8 March 2020
2:00AM
Daylight Savings Time Starts!
Monday 9 March 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 10 March 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Jam Making Session
Wednesday 11 March 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 12 March 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
Tuesday 17 March 2020
All day
St. Patrick's Day
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 18 March 2020
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
7:30PM
Board of Education
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 19 March 2020
All day
Spring Begins
7:15PM - 8:30PM
Book Discussion
Saturday 21 March 2020
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
1:00PM
St. Baldrick's Day
3:00PM - 4:00PM
Scent, Style and Culture: Five Iconic Fragrances of the 20th Century
Monday 23 March 2020
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 24 March 2020
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 25 March 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 26 March 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Fraud Watch Basics
Friday 27 March 2020
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Saturday 28 March 2020
10:30AM - 11:30AM
Creative Crafts: Seed Bombs
3:00PM - 4:00PM
Voices of Courage
Tuesday 31 March 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Wednesday 1 April 2020
7:30PM
Board of Education
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 2 April 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 4 April 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
2:00PM
Easter Egg Hunt
Monday 6 April 2020 - Monday 13 April 2020
All day
Schools Closed - Have Fun!
Monday 6 April 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Learn About Hummingbirds
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 7 April 2020
7:00PM - 8:30PM
How to be a Tarot Detective
Wednesday 8 April 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 9 April 2020
All day
1st day of Passover
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
Friday 10 April 2020
All day
Good Friday - Borough Hall Closed
Sunday 12 April 2020
All day
Easter
Tuesday 14 April 2020
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 15 April 2020
All day
Tax Day
7:30PM
Board of Education
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 16 April 2020
7:15PM - 8:30PM
Book Discussion
Saturday 18 April 2020
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
3:00PM - 4:00PM
The World Changed, So Did the Music
Monday 20 April 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 21 April 2020
All day
National Library Workers' Day
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 22 April 2020
All day
Administrative Professionals Day
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Passport Services
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 24 April 2020
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Saturday 25 April 2020
9:00AM - 3:00PM
Fiends of Vermeule Giant Yard Sale
Monday 27 April 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Saturday 2 May 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
Monday 4 May 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 5 May 2020
All day
Cinco de Mayo
Wednesday 6 May 2020
7:30PM
Board of Education
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 7 May 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 9 May 2020
8:30AM - 1:00PM
Spring CLEAN COMMUNITY DAY
3:00PM - 4:00PM
New Jersey State Parks
Sunday 10 May 2020
All day
Mother's Day
Monday 11 May 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Tuesday 12 May 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 13 May 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 14 May 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
Saturday 16 May 2020
8:30AM
Fishing Derby
Monday 18 May 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Fri (Excluding Holidays)