Job Opportunities

Join the North Plainfield Police Department
Many Jobs, One Career, Be the Future

The North Plainfield Police Department, Somerset County’s first Accredited Agency, patrols a primarily residential area of approximately 2.8 square miles with an estimated population of 21,000 people.  We are a full service-policing agency.  North Plainfield’s current roster of 45 sworn police officers and 38 civilian employees are dedicated to our motto of, “Protecting with Pride Serving with Honor.” 

When an opening avails itself, we evaluate all the resumes that were received in the past 12 months for that specific job opening.  People whose resumes are deemed acceptable for a position will be notified of the opening and scheduled for an interview.  So please update your resume each year if you still have interest in employment for any positions in the police department, to include:

  • Police Officer
  • Dispatcher
  • Parking Enforcement/Special Police Officer
  • Administrative Assistant/Secretary
  • Civilian Aid
  • Date Entry Clerk
  • Crossing Guards
  • Any other position

All candidates must be a citizen of the United States, in good health, of good moral character and free of criminal conviction involving moral turpitude. The candidate must possess excellent English verbal and written communication skills, have mature and innovative approaches to collaborating with citizens on neighborhood issues, have strong problem solving skills, the ability to work under stress and demonstrate a history of community service. In an effort to match the community we serve, extra consideration is given to candidates who are fluent in the Spanish language.  

Qualifications for Sworn Law Enforcement Positions:  In an effort to match the community we serve, extra consideration is given to candidates who are fluent in the Spanish language.  
This position is open to all that meet the mandatory qualifications with a preference given to applicants that are New Jersey Police Training Commission Certified.  Preference means we interview them first and only look at other resumes if we do not have at least 8 PTC certified applicants.  Next, we consider SLEO II certified applicants.  If we still do not have 8 PTC certified people we will look at the traditional route of hiring and sending the person to the police academy.  Through our accredited training methods and current hiring practices, we hope to increase minority officers within our roster. 

Equal Employment Opportunity is not only the law, but it is a principle of the North Plainfield Police Department's operation. 

Please forward your resume to Chief William G. Parenti, 263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, NJ 07060.

NPPD Accreditation
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Monday 18 November 2019
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 19 November 2019
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Knit & Crochet
7:30PM - 8:00PM
Library Advisory Committee
Wednesday 20 November 2019
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Resume and Job Search Assistance
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Comm. - NOTE VENUE CHANGE
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 21 November 2019
7:15PM - 8:30PM
Book Discussion
Saturday 23 November 2019
10:00AM - 11:30AM
Creative Crafts: Glitter Acorns
12:00PM - 4:00PM
Community Thanksgiving Dinner
Tuesday 26 November 2019
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 27 November 2019
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 28 November 2019
All day
THANKSGIVING - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 29 November 2019
All day
Borough Hall Closed
Sunday 1 December 2019
4:00PM - 7:00PM
Annual Holiday Celebration
Tuesday 3 December 2019
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Wednesday 4 December 2019
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Passport Services
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 5 December 2019
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 December 2019
8:00AM - 12:00PM
Optimist Club Breakfast With Santa
8:00AM - 2:00PM
Somerset County E-Waste Drop-off
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Free Rabies Clinic
Monday 9 December 2019
5:00PM - 6:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board Meeting
Tuesday 10 December 2019
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The History of Christmas Carols
Wednesday 11 December 2019
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 12 December 2019
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Friday 13 December 2019
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Monday 16 December 2019
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 17 December 2019
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Comm. - NOTE VENUE CHANGE
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 18 December 2019 - Saturday 21 December 2019
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest Register by TODAY!
Wednesday 18 December 2019
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 19 December 2019
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest
Friday 20 December 2019
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest
Saturday 21 December 2019
All day
WINTER BEGINS!
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest
10:30AM - 11:30AM
Adult Craft: Jewelry Box
Monday 23 December 2019
All day
First Day of Chanuka
Tuesday 24 December 2019
All day
CHRISTMAS EVE- Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 25 December 2019
All day
CHRISTMAS - Borough Hall Closed
Thursday 26 December 2019
All day
KWANZAA
Tuesday 31 December 2019
All day
NEW YEAR'S EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 1 January 2020
All day
NEW YEAR'S DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Monday 6 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Celebrate the New Year with Meditation
Tuesday 7 January 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Wednesday 8 January 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 9 January 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
Monday 13 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Tuesday 14 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:15PM
Django, Jazz and Bluegrass featuring Blue Jersey Band
Thursday 16 January 2020
7:15PM - 8:30PM
Book Discussion
Monday 20 January 2020
All day
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Borough Hall and Schools Closed
Tuesday 21 January 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Wednesday 22 January 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 24 January 2020
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Monday 27 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Monday 3 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Tuesday 4 February 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Monday 10 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Wednesday 12 February 2020
All day
Lincoln's Birthday
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 13 February 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
Friday 14 February 2020
All day
Valentine's Day
Saturday 15 February 2020
10:30AM - 11:30AM
Adult Craft: Painted Bottle Vase

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Fri (Excluding Holidays)