Criminal Investigation Division
Commander: Lieutenant Alan McKay
(908) 769-2922

General Investigations
Detective Sergeant Rico Perrone (908) 769-2973
Detective Eugene Segeda (908) 769-2925

Juvenile Investigations
Detective Donald Everett (908) 769-2924
Detective Joseph Mazza (908) 769-2923

Community Policing Office
School Resource Officer: Detective Eric Fowler
Crime Prevention: Detective Albert Domizi (908) 769-2971
DARE & GREAT Programs/Bicycle Patrol

The Criminal Investigation Division of the North Plainfield Police Department consists of a Lieutenant, a Sergeant and 5 Detectives. 

There is one sergeant and one detective assigned to general investigations and two detectives to juvenile investigations. However all of the detectives are crossed trained and able to investigate matters outside their primary designation.

There are also two detectives with special designations of School Resource Officer, Crime Prevention Detective and Community Policing Officers.

As part of their assigned duties they also investigate certain matters brought to the attention of the police department.

Finally two officers are trained and certified in both the DARE and GREAT programs. These Officers conduct the department’s bicycle patrol in the summer months, supplementing the Patrol Division, and acting as eyes and ears on the street for the Investigative Division.

 
INVESTIGATIONS

It is the duty of the detectives to investigate unsolved criminal activity and pursue criminal complaints through the Somerset County Prosecutor’s Office where the perpetrator has been determined.

In New Jersey violations of the state’s Criminal Code, (Title 2C), are divided into Crimes and Disorderly Person violations.

To compare this to our common law heritage, crimes are felonies, and disorderly person violations are misdemeanors. Generally Crimes are punishable by over a year in prison and disorderly person violations are under a year in prison. Crimes are further divided by degree. Crimes of the first degree being the most serious violations, on through crimes of the second, third and fourth degree, the fourth being the least serious. Crimes are adjudicated in Superior Court, (Somerville).

Disorderly Person violations are also subdivided into disorderly person violations and petty disorderly person violations. Unless part of a larger incident involving Crimes, disorderly person matters are adjudicated in North Plainfield Municipal Court.

Generally, police officers must see a disorderly person violation occur to make an arrest for it, although there are exceptions such as in domestic violence matters.

The detectives not only investigate unsolved criminal activity but also assist the Somerset County Prosecutor’s Office in case preparation for trial. All matters involving an arrest for a crime of the first, second, third, or fourth degree are assigned a detective as a “case agent”. It is the responsibility of the case agent to prepare the case for trial. This may involve conducting interviews, taking sworn statements, processing evidence, and writing supplemental reports.

Members of the detective bureau have also participated with the Community Policing Office by speaking to members of the Board of Education, parents associations, the Senior Citizens Club, and law enforcement associations.

Besides investigating matters, and preparing cases for trial, each detective also serves in a contact capacity. Some of these contacts positions include but are not limited to: Narcotic Intelligence; Gang Intelligence; Terrorism Intelligence; Alcohol Beverage Law; Megan’s Law; and Somerset County Intelligence liaison.

If you ever have information you believe is related to criminal activity please contact a member of the Criminal Investigation Division so that we may speak with you. Working together, the residents of North Plainfield and the Police Department can make the community a safe place to live and enjoy.

NPPD Accreditation
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Monday 18 November 2019
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 19 November 2019
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Knit & Crochet
7:30PM - 8:00PM
Library Advisory Committee
Wednesday 20 November 2019
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Resume and Job Search Assistance
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Comm. - NOTE VENUE CHANGE
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 21 November 2019
7:15PM - 8:30PM
Book Discussion
Saturday 23 November 2019
10:00AM - 11:30AM
Creative Crafts: Glitter Acorns
12:00PM - 4:00PM
Community Thanksgiving Dinner
Tuesday 26 November 2019
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 27 November 2019
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 28 November 2019
All day
THANKSGIVING - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 29 November 2019
All day
Borough Hall Closed
Sunday 1 December 2019
4:00PM - 7:00PM
Annual Holiday Celebration
Tuesday 3 December 2019
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Wednesday 4 December 2019
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Passport Services
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 5 December 2019
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 December 2019
8:00AM - 12:00PM
Optimist Club Breakfast With Santa
8:00AM - 2:00PM
Somerset County E-Waste Drop-off
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Free Rabies Clinic
Monday 9 December 2019
5:00PM - 6:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board Meeting
Tuesday 10 December 2019
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The History of Christmas Carols
Wednesday 11 December 2019
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 12 December 2019
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Friday 13 December 2019
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Monday 16 December 2019
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 17 December 2019
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Comm. - NOTE VENUE CHANGE
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 18 December 2019 - Saturday 21 December 2019
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest Register by TODAY!
Wednesday 18 December 2019
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 19 December 2019
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest
Friday 20 December 2019
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest
Saturday 21 December 2019
All day
WINTER BEGINS!
8:00AM - 10:00PM
Best Decorated House Contest
10:30AM - 11:30AM
Adult Craft: Jewelry Box
Monday 23 December 2019
All day
First Day of Chanuka
Tuesday 24 December 2019
All day
CHRISTMAS EVE- Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 25 December 2019
All day
CHRISTMAS - Borough Hall Closed
Thursday 26 December 2019
All day
KWANZAA
Tuesday 31 December 2019
All day
NEW YEAR'S EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 1 January 2020
All day
NEW YEAR'S DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Monday 6 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Celebrate the New Year with Meditation
Tuesday 7 January 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Wednesday 8 January 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 9 January 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
Monday 13 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Tuesday 14 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:15PM
Django, Jazz and Bluegrass featuring Blue Jersey Band
Thursday 16 January 2020
7:15PM - 8:30PM
Book Discussion
Monday 20 January 2020
All day
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Borough Hall and Schools Closed
Tuesday 21 January 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Wednesday 22 January 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 24 January 2020
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Special Needs Social Hour
Monday 27 January 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Monday 3 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Tuesday 4 February 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Writer's Group
Monday 10 February 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
English Conversation Group
Wednesday 12 February 2020
All day
Lincoln's Birthday
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 13 February 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Book Discussion
Friday 14 February 2020
All day
Valentine's Day
Saturday 15 February 2020
10:30AM - 11:30AM
Adult Craft: Painted Bottle Vase

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Fri (Excluding Holidays)