Criminal Investigation Division
Commander: Lieutenant Edward Ciempola
(908) 769-2922

General Investigations
Detective Sergeant Michael von Spreckelsen (908) 769-2973
Detective William Parenti Jr. (908) 769-2924

Juvenile Investigations / Juvenile Liaison Officers
Detective Jordan Rogers (908) 769-2925
Detective Daniel Conceicao (908) 769-2923

Community Policing Officer
School Resource Officer: Detective Roberto DeJesus
Crime Prevention: Detective Albert Domizi (908) 769-2971
LEAD & GREAT Programs

The Criminal Investigation Division of the North Plainfield Police Department consists of a Lieutenant, a Sergeant and 5 Detectives. 

There is one sergeant and one detective assigned to general investigations and two detectives to juvenile investigations. However all of the detectives are crossed trained and able to investigate matters outside their primary designation.

There are also two detectives with special designations of School Resource Officer, Crime Prevention Detective and Community Policing Officers.

As part of their assigned duties they also investigate certain matters brought to the attention of the police department.

Finally two officers are trained and certified in both the LEAD and GREAT programs.

The Criminal Investigations Division also coordinates and supervises the Police Department’s Special Law Enforcement Officer Class III program, which places specially trained retired police officers in our public school for added safety and security. The Det./Sergeant supervises those officers and coordinates with the School District Security Specialist.

 
INVESTIGATIONS

It is the duty of the detectives to investigate unsolved criminal activity and pursue criminal complaints through the Somerset County Prosecutor’s Office where the perpetrator has been determined.

In New Jersey violations of the state’s Criminal Code, (Title 2C), are divided into Crimes and Disorderly Person violations.

To compare this to our common law heritage, crimes are felonies, and disorderly person violations are misdemeanors. Generally Crimes are punishable by over a year in prison and disorderly person violations are under a year in prison. Crimes are further divided by degree. Crimes of the first degree being the most serious violations, on through crimes of the second, third and fourth degree, the fourth being the least serious. Crimes are adjudicated in Superior Court, (Somerville).

Disorderly Person violations are also subdivided into disorderly person violations and petty disorderly person violations. Unless part of a larger incident involving Crimes, disorderly person matters are adjudicated in North Plainfield Municipal Court.

Generally, police officers must see a disorderly person violation occur to make an arrest for it, although there are exceptions such as in domestic violence matters.

The detectives not only investigate unsolved criminal activity but also assist the Somerset County Prosecutor’s Office in case preparation for trial. All matters involving an arrest for a crime of the first, second, third, or fourth degree are assigned a detective as a “case agent”. It is the responsibility of the case agent to prepare the case for trial. This may involve conducting interviews, taking sworn statements, processing evidence, and writing supplemental reports.

Members of the detective bureau have also participated with the Community Policing Office by speaking to members of the Board of Education, parents associations, the Senior Citizens Club, and law enforcement associations.

Besides investigating matters, and preparing cases for trial, each detective also serves in a contact capacity. Some of these contacts positions include but are not limited to: Narcotic Intelligence; Gang Intelligence; Terrorism Intelligence; Alcohol Beverage Law; Megan’s Law; and Somerset County Intelligence liaison.

If you ever have information you believe is related to criminal activity please contact a member of the Criminal Investigation Division so that we may speak with you. Working together, the residents of North Plainfield and the Police Department can make the community a safe place to live and enjoy.

NPPD Accreditation
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Tuesday 22 June 2021
All day
Signup For The Police Youth Acadmey
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Fred Astaire: An American Icon
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 23 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Gardens of the Scottish Highlands
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 24 June 2021
3:00PM - 7:00PM
J&J Vaccine Clinic
7:00PM - 8:00PM
BFFs: Man and Dog in the Classical World
Friday 25 June 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Princeton: The Nation’s Capital 1783
Saturday 26 June 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 27 June 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 28 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Photographing In and Around New Jersey
7:30PM
Council Meeting
8:00PM
Summer Camp Begins!!
Tuesday 29 June 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 30 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Pegi Ballister - Howells
Thursday 1 July 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Story of Morven - Part 1
Saturday 3 July 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Sunday 4 July 2021
All day
Independence Day
Monday 5 July 2021
All day
Independence Day Observed Borough hall Closed
10:00AM - 12:00PM
4th of July Parade
Tuesday 6 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Hornets, and Wasps, and Bees, Oh My!
Wednesday 7 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Philadelphia: A Revolutionary City
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 8 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Story of Morven - Part 2
Friday 9 July 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Stress...the Enemy Within
Saturday 10 July 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
5:00PM
Community Day - Fireworks
Sunday 11 July 2021
5:00PM
Rain Date - Community Day - Fireworks
Monday 12 July 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 13 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
History of the Jersey Shore
Wednesday 14 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Poetry of a New Nation
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Thursday 15 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Michael Birkner
Saturday 17 July 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 19 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Venmo, PayPal, Zelle, and Other Payment Sharing Tools
Tuesday 20 July 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 21 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Cooking with Herbs: From the Garden to the Table
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Thursday 22 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Governors Without a "Script"
Saturday 24 July 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 25 July 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 27 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Back to Bach
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 28 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Birds of the World
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 31 July 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Tuesday 3 August 2021
6:00PM - 8:00PM
National Night Out
Wednesday 4 August 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Thursday 5 August 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 August 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
9:30AM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Monday 9 August 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
Wednesday 11 August 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 14 August 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Monday 16 August 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 17 August 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 18 August 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 21 August 2021
All day
Senior Citizens Day
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Wednesday 25 August 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 28 August 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 29 August 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 31 August 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 1 September 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 2 September 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 4 September 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Monday 6 September 2021
All day
LABOR DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Tuesday 7 September 2021
All day
Rosh Hashanah
Wednesday 8 September 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 9 September 2021
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 11 September 2021
All day
Patriot Day
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Sunday 12 September 2021
All day
Grandparents Day
Monday 13 September 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 15 September 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 16 September 2021
All day
Yom Kippur
Friday 17 September 2021
All day
National POW/MIA Recognition Day
All day
Citizenship Day
Saturday 18 September 2021
All day
National CleanUp Day
8:30AM - 1:00PM
Clean Community Day
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours: Summer Schedule
Monday Tuesday Thursday
8:00am - 4:30pm
Wednesday
8:00am - 6:00pm
Friday
8:00am - 2:00pm
(Excluding Holidays)