FAQ

 

North Plainfield Police T and U Visa Information:

Can I pay a Ticket Online?  Yes


May I Report A Tip?  Yes nppd-disp@npmail.org (this is not monitored in real-time and should not be used for calls for service).  Call 911 for emergencies and 908-769-3937 for non-emergent calls.


How Do I Report Police Misconduct?

Additional Questions:

May a person report misconduct over the phone?

Yes, North Plainfield police will investigate all reported incidents not matter how they are received.

May a person report misconduct anonymously?

Yes, the person can remain anonymous. 

May a Juvenile report police misconduct without his parent or guardian?

Yes, age is not a factor in investigating police misconduct and it will be investigated the same as if the complainant was an adult. 

Will a person be asked their immigration status?

No, The Attorney General’s directive prohibits police officers in New Jersey from asking someone immigration status, unless that person have been arrested for a crime or driving while intoxicated.


How Do I Report a Bias Incident?


How can I help myself in an emergency?

Most importantly, remain calm and work with the 911 operator. Valuable time can be lost to panic. You may be able to provide important information for the responders or take some important first steps to handle the situation at hand. For the speediest response possible, be prepared to supply the operator with the following information: type of problem, where you are, where the problem is, phone number you may be called back at, color of the house, closest cross streets, landmarks, how many people are involved, descriptions of any vehicles involved, and descriptions of any suspects and direction of travel.

If you are calling from a cellular phone, make note of landmarks, mile markers on the highways, and any other information which could provide your location. When you dial 911 from a cellular phone, it is not answered by your local Dispatch Center, but rather the State or County Dispatch Enhanced 911 Public Safety Answering Point. It is vital to be as specific as you can regarding your location especially on a cellular phone.


How do I know if my call is an emergency?

Examples of emergencies are: a crime or incident in progress, a suspicious person or vehicle, or when there is a risk of loss of life or property. Non-emergencies include crimes or incidents not in progress, animal calls, directions, questions about special events, and loud music calls. If you are not sure if your concern qualifies as an emergency, go ahead and dial 911. The dispatcher will refer you to the non-emergency number if appropriate.


What happens when I dial 911? Am I talking to my local Communications Center?

No.  Your 911 call goes from your phone to the Somerset County Communications Center, Located in Somerville N.J.  the 911 operator will ask you if your emergency is for police, fire or medical response. Police calls are then routed to North Plainfield Police Dispatch. 


Domestic Violence; How can I get my belongings out of our my/house?

If you live in North Plainfield you can call the Police at 908-769-2937 and ask for a CIVIL STANDBY. These generally last 5-15 minutes. The Officer will stand by while you gather essential items. If the 2nd party/person is not at home the Police will not allow you to gain unauthorized entry.  The officers are only there to keep the peace and not inventory what is taken.


RESTRAINING ORDERS; CAN I INVITE THE PERSON BACK HOME?

No.  Only a judge may vacate a restraining order.  The person being restrained will be arrested even if he/she was invited back home.


Do North Plainfield Police wear Body Cameras?

Yes our mission is to continuing to build transparency with the community we serve. We are part of a pilot program to test the use of Body Worn Cams for Somerset County. 


NPPD Accreditation 
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Tuesday 22 June 2021
All day
Signup For The Police Youth Acadmey
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Fred Astaire: An American Icon
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 23 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Gardens of the Scottish Highlands
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 24 June 2021
3:00PM - 7:00PM
J&J Vaccine Clinic
7:00PM - 8:00PM
BFFs: Man and Dog in the Classical World
Friday 25 June 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Princeton: The Nation’s Capital 1783
Saturday 26 June 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 27 June 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 28 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Photographing In and Around New Jersey
7:30PM
Council Meeting
8:00PM
Summer Camp Begins!!
Tuesday 29 June 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 30 June 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Pegi Ballister - Howells
Thursday 1 July 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Story of Morven - Part 1
Saturday 3 July 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Sunday 4 July 2021
All day
Independence Day
Monday 5 July 2021
All day
Independence Day Observed Borough hall Closed
10:00AM - 12:00PM
4th of July Parade
Tuesday 6 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Hornets, and Wasps, and Bees, Oh My!
Wednesday 7 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Philadelphia: A Revolutionary City
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 8 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Story of Morven - Part 2
Friday 9 July 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Stress...the Enemy Within
Saturday 10 July 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
5:00PM
Community Day - Fireworks
Sunday 11 July 2021
5:00PM
Rain Date - Community Day - Fireworks
Monday 12 July 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 13 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
History of the Jersey Shore
Wednesday 14 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Poetry of a New Nation
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Thursday 15 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Michael Birkner
Saturday 17 July 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 19 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Venmo, PayPal, Zelle, and Other Payment Sharing Tools
Tuesday 20 July 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 21 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Cooking with Herbs: From the Garden to the Table
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Thursday 22 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Governors Without a "Script"
Saturday 24 July 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 25 July 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 27 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Back to Bach
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 28 July 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Birds of the World
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 31 July 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Tuesday 3 August 2021
6:00PM - 8:00PM
National Night Out
Wednesday 4 August 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Thursday 5 August 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 August 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
9:30AM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Monday 9 August 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
Wednesday 11 August 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 14 August 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Monday 16 August 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 17 August 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 18 August 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Outdoor Summer Concert Series
Saturday 21 August 2021
All day
Senior Citizens Day
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Wednesday 25 August 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 28 August 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 29 August 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 31 August 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 1 September 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 2 September 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 4 September 2021
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Monday 6 September 2021
All day
LABOR DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Tuesday 7 September 2021
All day
Rosh Hashanah
Wednesday 8 September 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 9 September 2021
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 11 September 2021
All day
Patriot Day
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
Sunday 12 September 2021
All day
Grandparents Day
Monday 13 September 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 15 September 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 16 September 2021
All day
Yom Kippur
Friday 17 September 2021
All day
National POW/MIA Recognition Day
All day
Citizenship Day
Saturday 18 September 2021
All day
National CleanUp Day
8:30AM - 1:00PM
Clean Community Day
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market Today!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours: Summer Schedule
Monday Tuesday Thursday
8:00am - 4:30pm
Wednesday
8:00am - 6:00pm
Friday
8:00am - 2:00pm
(Excluding Holidays)