North Plainfield Police Deparmtent - Medals

Those bars, above the Police Officer's badge, are departmental awards or Citation Bar Decorations. The Citation Bars are awarded through nominations from fellow officers, supervisors, or the officer him or herself. These citations are awarded for bravery, intelligence, quick thinking, and teamwork while performing his/her duties. Below, are the citations bars that the North Plainfield Police Department award and a brief description regarding their meaning.

THE MEDAL OF HONOR

Image of the Police Medal of Honor

The Medal of Honor is awarded to a member of the Police Department who intelligently, in the line of duty, distinguishes himself by the performance of an act of gallantry and intrepidity with imminent personal hazard of life with knowledge of the risk assumed, above and beyond the call of duty. Additional awards of Divisional Medal of Honor shall be indicated by a gold oak-leaf worn above the cluster of stars on the ribbon from which the medal is suspended and by a similar oak-leaf placed in the center of the breast bar.

THE COMBAT CROSS

Image of the Police Combat Cross Medal

The Combat Cross Medal is awarded to a member of the Police Department for successful performance of an act of extraordinary heroism while engaged in personal combat with an armed adversary with imminent personal hazard of life in the intelligent performance of duty. Additional awards for the Combat Cross shall be indicated by a gold palm leaf worn in the center of the ribbon from which the medal is suspended and by a similar gold palm leaf placed in the center of the breast bar.

MEDAL FOR MERITORIOUS DUTY

Image of the Police Meritorious Duty Medal

The Combat Cross Medal is awarded to a member of the Police Department for successful performance of an act of extraordinary heroism while engaged in personal combat with an armed adversary with imminent personal hazard of life in the intelligent performance of duty. Additional awards for the Combat Cross shall be indicated by a gold palm leaf worn in the center of the ribbon from which the medal is suspended and by a similar gold palm leaf placed in the center of the breast bar.

THE EXCELLENT DUTY COMMENDATION BAR

Image of the Police Excellent Duty Commendation Medal

Bar is awarded to a member of the Police Department when, through diligence and perseverance, he performs a difficult task by which crimes are prevented, life and property protected, criminals apprehended or when his meritorious performance reflects credit to himself and to the Department. Additional awards for the Excellent Duty Medal will be shown by a gold star placed on the prescribed bar. A gold oak-leaf shall be used to indicate a third award.

HONORABLE SERVICE MEDAL

Image of the Police Honorable Service Medal

The Honorable Service Medal is awarded to a member of the Police Department for a creditable act in the line of duty, which meets some, but not all of the requirements for the other medals. It is unusual in nature showing initiative and accomplishment. Additional awards for the Honorable Service Medal will be shown by a gold star placed on the prescribed bar, a gold oak-leaf shall be used to indicate a third award.

UNIT CITATION MEDAL

Image of the Police Unit Citation Medal

The Unit Citation Commendation Bar is awarded to Department members who have acted in concert with one another to bring about a successful outcome that has promoted the public safety and reflected credit to the department.

YEAR BAR

Image of the Police Years Medal

The Year Bar is awarded to a member of the Police Department with five years of honorable service and elevated in increments of five years.

VETERANS BAR

Image of the Police Veteran Medal

The Veterans Bar is awarded to a member of the Police Department who has honorably served in one of the armed forces of the United States on active duty.

OAK LEAF CLUSTER

Image of Oak Leaf Cluster

A gold oak leaf cluster is used to denote subsequent awards of up to three consisting of a miniature gold twig of four oak leaves.

GOLD STAR

Image of Gold Star

A miniature gold star that is used to denote a subsequent single award.

North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Friday 1 October 2021 - Sunday 31 October 2021
1:00AM - 11:45PM
FIRE PREVENTION MONTH
Friday 22 October 2021
2:00PM - 3:30PM
Thyroid Health
Saturday 23 October 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Sin, Guilt, and Mercy: Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Poetic Justice
Monday 25 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Wild Bones of New Jersey
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 26 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Mark Twain and the Supernatural
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 27 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Thirteen Reasons Why It’s Fun to Watch Hitchcock Films
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 28 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Poisoned Glass: A Famous, Forgotten Murder
Saturday 30 October 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
1:00PM - 4:00PM
Storytime in the Pumpkin Patch
1:30PM
Halloween Parade
Sunday 31 October 2021
All day
Halloween!
12:00PM - 1:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
3:00PM - 8:00PM
Halloween Trick-Or-Treat
Tuesday 2 November 2021
All day
ELECTION DAY - Borough Hall Open
Wednesday 3 November 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 4 November 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 6 November 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 7 November 2021
All day
Daylight Saving Time Ends
Monday 8 November 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
Wednesday 10 November 2021
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board
Thursday 11 November 2021
All day
Veterans Day
Saturday 13 November 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 15 November 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 16 November 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 17 November 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 20 November 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 23 November 2021
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 24 November 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 25 November 2021
All day
THANKSGIVING - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 26 November 2021
All day
Day After Thanksgiving - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 27 November 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 28 November 2021
12:00PM - 1:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 29 November 2021
All day
First Day Of Chanukah
Tuesday 30 November 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 1 December 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Thursday 2 December 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 4 December 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 5 December 2021
4:00PM
Christmas Tree Lighting and Santa Comes To Town
4:00PM - 6:00PM
Tree Lighting and Santa Comes to Town
Monday 6 December 2021
All day
Last Day Of Chanukah
Wednesday 8 December 2021
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board
Thursday 9 December 2021
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 11 December 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 13 December 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 15 December 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 16 December 2021
All day
Holiday Home Decorating Contest Begins
Saturday 18 December 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 21 December 2021
All day
First Day of Winter
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 22 December 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 24 December 2021
All day
CHRISTMAS EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 25 December 2021
All day
CHRISTMAS DAY
Sunday 26 December 2021
All day
First Day of KWANZAA
12:00PM - 1:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 28 December 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Friday 31 December 2021
All day
NEW YEAR'S EVE - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 1 January 2022
All day
NEW YEAR'S DAY
Wednesday 12 January 2022
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours: Summer Schedule
Monday Tuesday Thursday
8:00am - 4:30pm
Wednesday
8:00am - 6:00pm
Friday
8:00am - 2:00pm
(Excluding Holidays)