NPFD Volunteer Call Force


The volunteer call force or “Callmen” supplement the career firefighters and are all trained at least to the level of Firefighter 1.  If they do not have that certification when the join the department we will send them to fire school and they must obtain it within their first year of membership.

Once they join, they are assigned to one of the four platoons in order to become familiar with the department. They are given a training manual that covers all aspects of our department, as well as every basic topic in firefighting. The platoon officers work with each new member in order for them to satisfactorily complete all topics in the manual.

There is also a scheduled monthly training drill on the first Wednesday night of each month, but they are encouraged to participate in any other platoon training that the department conducts.   The Callmen must meet and maintain all the same mandatory requirements as career firefighters that are required by law.  

Call force members are enrolled in the Borough’s LOSAP (Length of Service Award Program) and also receive a bi-annual stipend if they qualify.  The minimum requirements to earn the stipend are as follows: they must participate in a minimum of 3 drills per half year period, with an opportunity to make-up missed drills and they must respond to at least 10% of the fire incidents when they are requested. 

As with any other agency that depends on volunteer support, we continue to experience a fluctuation in the number of persons willing and capable of serving as volunteer firefighters. If you are interested in volunteering, come down to headquarters at 8 Lincoln Place for an application. You must be at least 18 years of age, possess a valid NJ driver’s license, pass a medical/physical examination and pass a State & FBI criminal background investigation. 

North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Saturday 25 September 2021
All day
FEMA INFO
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
11:00AM - 4:00PM
Fall Festival
Sunday 26 September 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 27 September 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Conceptual Illustration and the News of Today
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 28 September 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: William E. Wallace
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 29 September 2021
All day
FEMA INFO
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Frida Kahlo
Thursday 30 September 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Governor Livingston, I Presume
Friday 1 October 2021
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Medicare and Medications Made Affordable
Saturday 2 October 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 4 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Reducing Your Breast Cancer Risk
Tuesday 5 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Mexican Art of the Hispanic Society
Wednesday 6 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Discovery of a Masterpiece
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Thursday 7 October 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: F. Alexander Shipley
Friday 8 October 2021
10:30AM - 11:30AM
Using Virtual Resources to Plan Your Career
Saturday 9 October 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
2:00PM - 4:00PM
Hispanic Heritage Month Celebration
Monday 11 October 2021
All day
Columbus Day - Borough Hall Closed
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Online Job Searching
Tuesday 12 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
A Piet Oudolf Story
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 13 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Meet the Author: Aviva Chomsky
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board
Thursday 14 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Princeton Cemetery
Friday 15 October 2021
All day
Boss's Day
Saturday 16 October 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 18 October 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Legends of Liberty Hall
Tuesday 19 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
When There Were Witches
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 20 October 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 21 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Understanding Medicare
Friday 22 October 2021
2:00PM - 3:30PM
Thyroid Health
Saturday 23 October 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Sin, Guilt, and Mercy: Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Poetic Justice
Monday 25 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Wild Bones of New Jersey
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 26 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Mark Twain and the Supernatural
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 27 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Thirteen Reasons Why It’s Fun to Watch Hitchcock Films
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 28 October 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Poisoned Glass: A Famous, Forgotten Murder
Saturday 30 October 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 31 October 2021
All day
Halloween!
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 2 November 2021
All day
ELECTION DAY - Borough Hall Open
Wednesday 3 November 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 4 November 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 6 November 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 7 November 2021
All day
Daylight Saving Time Ends
Monday 8 November 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
Wednesday 10 November 2021
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board
Thursday 11 November 2021
All day
Veterans Day
Saturday 13 November 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 15 November 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 16 November 2021
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 17 November 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 20 November 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 23 November 2021
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
Wednesday 24 November 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 25 November 2021
All day
THANKSGIVING - Borough Hall Closed
Friday 26 November 2021
All day
Day After Thanksgiving - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 27 November 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 28 November 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 29 November 2021
All day
First Day Of Chanukah
Tuesday 30 November 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 1 December 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Greenbrook Flood Control Commission
Thursday 2 December 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 4 December 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 5 December 2021
4:00PM - 6:00PM
Tree Lighting and Santa Comes to Town
Monday 6 December 2021
All day
Last Day Of Chanukah
Wednesday 8 December 2021
7:00PM
Cancelled - Planning Board
Thursday 9 December 2021
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
7:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 11 December 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 13 December 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 15 December 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 16 December 2021
All day
Holiday Home Decorating Contest Begins
Saturday 18 December 2021
9:30AM - 11:30AM
Food Bank Open Today
Tuesday 21 December 2021
All day
First Day of Winter
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
Wednesday 22 December 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours: Summer Schedule
Monday Tuesday Thursday
8:00am - 4:30pm
Wednesday
8:00am - 6:00pm
Friday
8:00am - 2:00pm
(Excluding Holidays)