North Plainfield Collection Guidelines


ALL COLLECTION ITEMS MUST BE PLACED CURBSIDE THE EVENING BEFORE PICKUP OR BY 7AM THE DAY OF PICKUP.


LEAF DROP-OFF (IN PAPER BAGS - LEAVES ONLY)

  • There will be SIX leaf drop off dates as shown on the Collection Calendar
  • Location: 254 Steiner Place
  • Hours 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
  • Proof of residency is required in order to drop off leaves.
  • Acceptable forms of identification include tax, water, and sewer bills or a driver’s license.
  • No commercial vehicles will be allowed.
  • No out-of-town vehicles will be allowed.
  • Paper bagged leaves ONLY will be accepted.
  • Please drive up to gated area and follow instructions from there.

FALL LEAF PICKUP

Leaves will be collected LOOSE from the curb line or bagged in paper bags. Leaves in plastic bags will not be collected.

AVOID

  • Debris in leaves such as brush, rocks, etc.
  • Placing leaves on or near storm sewers.
  • Blocking intersections, street corners, and driveways.
  • Allowing children to play in leaf piles in street.
  • Parking vehicles on leaf piles.
  • Please rake leaves to the curb line as soon after they fall as possible.

SEPTEMBER METAL PICKUP – NO CHARGE TO RESIDENTS – BY APPOINTMENT ONLY

  • Appointments can be made starting August 15th.
  • Pipe cut in 4' lengths (limited appointments).
  • 5' x 10' x 5' or a total of 250 cubic feet.
  • Items that would normally contain FREON will not be collected.

APRIL BULK TRASH PICKUP – BY APPOINTMENT ONLY

  • $10.00 per item up to 5 items.
  • Sign-up begins March 15th.
  • Building, construction & demolition debris are not collected - contact a private hauler.
  • The Bulk Trash collection is for BULK items only - Small items that can and should be placed in your regular trash will not be collected (Including small items placed in larger containers).
  • Appointments are given on a first come, first served basis. Make Appointments Early.
  • Size limitation of the bulk trash collected:
    • Bulk items must not be any larger than an area of 5'x10'x5' or 250 cubic feet.
    • Metal items are not bulk trash and will be left behind.

BRUSH PICKUP

  • See calendar for collection days.
  • Limited to 7 tied bundles maximum.
  • Branches cut to 4' lengths.
  • Each bundle cannot exceed 50 lbs.
  • Tree trunks, stumps, and limbs too large to bundle (greater than 2" in diameter) are not brush
  • And will not be collected.

GRASS CLIPPINGS – CANNOT BE MIXED WITH LEAVES OR BRUSH

  • See calendar for collection days.
  • Loose grass placed at the curb WILL NOT be collected.
  • Put loose grass in reusable containers with lids.
  • 50 lbs. per container maximum.
  • No containers over 30 gallons in size.

CHRISTMAS TREE COLLECTION

  • Do NOT bag tree.
  • No need to cut and bundle tree
  • Trees with hardware or decorations will not be collected.

For information on PMUA Transfer Station

Please visit: http://pmua.info/perc/ You can also download the application to drop off at the dump here: Waste Disposal Form

Help us keep North Plainfield Clean!

Place items at curb on Scheduled Pick-Up Date Only. Follow the North Plainfield Collection Guidelines. Remove empty containers from curb side. Once your appointment has been scheduled, do not put items out earlier than 6:00PM the night before your appointment For additional information, call (908) 769-2914
North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Tuesday 11 August 2020
6:00PM - 7:30PM
Ending Stigma in Somerset County: Raising Awareness About Mental Health
Wednesday 12 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Belly Dance Bhangra World Dance Fusion
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 13 August 2020
1:00PM - 2:30PM
Employment Resources for People with Disabilities
Friday 14 August 2020
2:00PM - 3:30PM
Smart DriverTEK workshop: Presented by AARP
Saturday 15 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Tuesday 18 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Transforming Journalism: How Augmented and Virtual Reality are Impacting the News
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 19 August 2020
7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mayor's Free Summer Concert Series
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Saturday 22 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Wednesday 26 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The History of the Great Swamp
7:00PM
Planning Board
7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mayor's Free Summer Concert Series
Thursday 27 August 2020
7:00PM - 8:00PM
How to Use Facebook to Increase Your Business
Saturday 29 August 2020
9:00AM - 12:00PM
Farmers Market
Monday 31 August 2020
1:00PM - 2:00PM
Virtual Readers' Roundtable
Wednesday 2 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 3 September 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 5 September 2020
5:30PM - 10:00PM
Community Day - Fireworks
Monday 7 September 2020
All day
LABOR DAY - Borough Hall Closed
Wednesday 9 September 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 12 September 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
Sunday 13 September 2020
All day
National Grandparents Day
Monday 14 September 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Tuesday 15 September 2020
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 16 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 17 September 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Economic Development Committee Meeting
Saturday 19 September 2020
All day
Rosh Hashana
8:30AM - 1:00PM
Fall CLEAN COMMUNITY DAY
Tuesday 22 September 2020
11:00AM - 4:00PM
Fall Begins
7:00PM
Municipal Alliance/Youth Services Meeting
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 23 September 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 26 September 2020
11:00AM - 4:00PM
NP Fall Festival
Monday 28 September 2020
All day
YOM KIPPUR
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Thursday 1 October 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 3 October 2020
All day
1st Day of Sukkot
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
12:00PM - 3:00PM
Senior Picnic
Wednesday 7 October 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Monday 12 October 2020
All day
Columbus Day - Borough Hall Closed
Tuesday 13 October 2020
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Wednesday 14 October 2020
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 17 October 2020
9:00AM - 2:00PM
Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off Day
7:00PM - 10:00PM
Optimist Club Wine Tasting
Monday 19 October 2020
5:00PM
Shade Tree Commission
Tuesday 20 October 2020
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
7:30PM
Board Of Parks And Recreation Committee
Wednesday 21 October 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Sunday 25 October 2020
1:00PM
Halloween Parade
Monday 26 October 2020
7:30PM
Regular Council Meeting
Wednesday 28 October 2020
6:00PM - 8:00PM
Passport Services
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 31 October 2020
All day
Halloween!
Sunday 1 November 2020
2:00AM
Daylight Savings Time Ends 2am
Tuesday 3 November 2020
2:00AM
ELECTION DAY - Borough Hall Open
Wednesday 4 November 2020
7:30PM - 8:30PM
Board of Adjustment
Thursday 5 November 2020
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Saturday 7 November 2020
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)
Fridays Between May 28th - Aug 30th:
Borough Offices Will Close 1:30pm