COVID-19 Updates and Reference Information

Center for Disease Control

  • CDC COVID-19 Updates
  • CDC Latest Information Related to the Coronavirus

NJ State Department of Health


Somerset County Department of Health

  • Somerset CountyCOVID-19 Coronavirus
  • Somerset County Coronavirus Update Line:
  • 1(908)231-7111
  • Prerecorded message updated daily.

Everbridge Emergency Notifications

Everbridge is the notification and alerting system used by North Plainfield. If you have not done so already it is highly recommended to sign up in order to receive important alert information. Clicking on the Everbridge image below will take you directly to the account creation page. Please remember to add your preferred contact information and update if necessary. Notifications can be sent as voice, text message, or email. Please add any and all methods of contact you would prefer to recieve messages on. Thank you for your cooperation and allowing us to help our community stay safe.

North Plainfield Everbridge Notification Signup and Registration

Utilities: Voluntary Cooperation For Customer Relief

Nationally Reported: Unsupported Claims, Scams, and Criminal Activity


North Plainfield Local Information:

    Mayor Michael Giordano would like all residents of the Borough of North Plainfield to be assured that your local government is participating at every level of government to continue operations and provide essential services. Police, Fire, Emergency Medical Services and Public Works departments will remain staffed and operational during this crisis. Municipal staff are still reporting to work and available by phone and email to answer question and representatives from all municipal departments make up our Emergency Management and meet regularly to receive and share updated information to adjust response as needed.

    All information regarding COVID-19 positive cases is issued by our health department, the Somerset County Health Department.

    We are considering for resuming public access to Borough Hall and will be making additional announcements shortly.

    We encourage all residents when traveling outside the home for any of the approved activities under Governor Phil Murphy’s executive orders, to practice appropriate social distancing.

    Please refer to the following federal, state, local and health related websites for critical information to help you through this time;

    Center for Disease Control (CDC)

    https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nCoV/index.html

    U.S. Department of Labor

    https://www.dol.gov/coronavirus

    https://www.nj.gov/labor/worker-protections/earnedsick/covid.shtml

    State of New Jersey

    https://nj.gov/

    New Jersey COVID-19 Information Hub

    https://covid19.nj.gov/

    Somerset County Health Department

    https://www.co.somerset.nj.us/residents/covid-19-status

    For Small Business Guidance and Loan Resources: US Small Business Administration

    https://www.sba.gov/page/coronavirus-covid-19-small-business-guidance-loan-resources

    Emergency Police Reporting Operations

  • Emergency Police Reporting Specific Procedures English
  • During the state of emergency for COVID 19 and in the interest of protecting members of the public and public servants from unnecessary exposure, we have modified our procedure of taking police reports. We have also modified the method of requesting and receiving police reports as follows:

    If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident in which there is no personal injury and property damage of less than $500.00 you will be directed by the responding officer to make a self-report. This can be done by going to our website northplainfield.org and completing the report on-line.

    All reports of burglary or theft of the 4th degree or less may be reported over the telephone or by e-mail. Detectives will follow-up by telephone if appropriate. These reports will be subject to further verification after the crisis is over.

    Police will respond to burglary or theft cases of 3rd degree or greater and a detective will follow up in person if appropriate.

    Police will respond to all serious calls for service. Please advise the officers responding if anyone is experiencing any flu-like symptoms. Officers may be wearing personal protective equipment and may ask you or others on the scene to put a mask on.

    People making police reports for less serious matters may make those reports over the telephone to a police officer and will be able to e-mail any needed information to the following e-mail. nppd-disp@npmail.org

    When requesting a police report, with the exception of an accident report, you will be required to e-mail an image of the front and back of your photo identification to pdrecords@npmail.org. Fees associated with the distribution of reports will be waived, with the exception of normal DISCOVERY fees for court matters. Reports will be e-mailed to requesting parties unless other arrangements are made with record division staff.

    If appropriate, any evidence that needs to be processed will be picked up by an officer. Instructions for the preservation and pick-up of evidence will be given by the officer.

North Plainfield - 1630 AM Radio
Upcoming Events (90 Days)
Tuesday 19 January 2021
5:30PM
National Moment of Unity and Remembrance
7:00PM - 8:30PM
Eating Well on A Budget with Healthy Food
7:30PM
Parks & Rec Meeting
7:30PM
Council Meeting
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 20 January 2021
All day
Inauguration Day
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 21 January 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Virtual Book Discussion Salon: "The Eyre Affair" by Jasper Fforde
Friday 22 January 2021
10:00AM - 2:00PM
FREE COVID-!( TESTING
11:00AM - 12:00PM
Online Job Searching
Saturday 23 January 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open today
Monday 25 January 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 26 January 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
George Washington's Winter Encampments And the Winning of American Independence
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 27 January 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Self-Care - Filling Up Your Cup
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 29 January 2021
12:00PM - 1:00PM
Meet the Author: Ana Homayoun: Social Media Wellness (grades 6-12 and caregivers)
Sunday 31 January 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Monday 1 February 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
A Black News Service for America: Presented by Dr. Lawrence Hogan
Tuesday 2 February 2021
All day
Groundhog Day
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Manage Stress, Manage Your Heart Health
Wednesday 3 February 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 4 February 2021
All day
Rosa Parks Day
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Frederick Douglass’s Relevance For the 21st Century’s Black Lives Matter Protests
Saturday 6 February 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
Monday 8 February 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 9 February 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The Civil Rights Movement and Organized Labor
Wednesday 10 February 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Webinar Búsqueda de Empleo: Clases en línea para hispanohablantes
7:00PM
Planning Board
Friday 12 February 2021
All day
Lincoln's Birthday - Borough Hall Closed
All day
Chinese New Year
2:00PM - 3:00PM
Lincoln: Our Most Inspirational President?
Sunday 14 February 2021
All day
Valentine's Day
Monday 15 February 2021
All day
Presidents Day
Wednesday 17 February 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Harriet Hemmings and the Pursuit of Happiness: The Story of Thomas Jefferson’s Enslaved Daughter
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 18 February 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Virtual Book Discussion Salon: "Educated" by Tara Westover
Saturday 20 February 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 22 February 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 23 February 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
The World Changed, so Did the Music
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Wednesday 24 February 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 25 February 2021
7:00PM - 8:00PM
Representative John Lewis Joins the Pantheon of Our Strong Black Ancestors
Friday 26 February 2021
All day
Purim
Saturday 27 February 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 28 February 2021
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 2 March 2021
All day
Read Across America Day
Wednesday 3 March 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Thursday 4 March 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Friday 5 March 2021
All day
Employee Appreciation Day
Saturday 6 March 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
Monday 8 March 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 10 March 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Sunday 14 March 2021
All day
Daylight Savings Time Starts!
Tuesday 16 March 2021
7:30PM
Library Advisory Committee Meeting
Wednesday 17 March 2021
All day
St. Patrick's Day
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Saturday 20 March 2021
All day
Spring Begins!
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Monday 22 March 2021
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Wednesday 24 March 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Saturday 27 March 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today
Sunday 28 March 2021
All day
First Day Of Passover
12:30PM
Neighbors Feeding Neighbors
Tuesday 30 March 2021
7:00PM
Historic Preservation Commission Meeting
Thursday 1 April 2021
6:00PM
Architectural Design Review Board
Friday 2 April 2021
All day
Good Friday - Borough Hall Closed
Saturday 3 April 2021
8:00AM - 12:00PM
E-Waste Drop-off
8:00AM - 2:00PM
First Saturday Drop-off
Sunday 4 April 2021
All day
Last Day of Passover
All day
Easter
Tuesday 6 April 2021
All day
National Library Workers' Day
Wednesday 7 April 2021
7:00PM
Board of Adjustment
7:30PM
Board of Education
Monday 12 April 2021
5:00PM
Shade Tree Advisory Board
7:30PM
Council Meeting
Tuesday 13 April 2021
All day
Ramadan Starts
Wednesday 14 April 2021
7:00PM
Planning Board
Thursday 15 April 2021
All day
Tax Day
Saturday 17 April 2021
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Food Bank Open Today

263 Somerset Street North Plainfield, New Jersey 07060
(908)769-2900
© Copyright 2018, North Plainfield Borough
This website and its contents are maintained by the Borough of North Plainfield. All possible efforts are employed to ensure the accuracy and currency of items that you find posted here; however, you are urged to reach out directly to individual offices, boards, committees and commissions before proceeding with any critical matter or issue you would wish to pursue in relation to information contained herein. Thank you.

Hours 8am-4:30pm Mon-Thurs (Excluding Holidays)
Fridays Between May 28th - Aug 30th:
Borough Offices Will Close 1:30pm